Is Metro Man Sreedharan BJP’s Next Choice For Presidentship?

The suspense drama on the presidential candidate is growing day by day. There have been several names doing the rounds as the possible candidates. But one name which took everyone by surprise is E. Sreedharan. Being the pioneer of Metro rails all over the country, Sreedharan would garner a positive response from all corners, if announced as a viable candidate.

Although reports are surfacing regarding this, E Sreedharan brushed aside all such developments and says he isn’t looking for any posts. “No reality in it, no discussions took place and, I don’t long for it,” Sreedharan was quoted as saying.

Ever since PM Modi inaugurated the Kochi Metro, with E. Sreedharan by his side and was found chatting with him all through the ride, speculation is rife about the Metro man’s possible entry into the probable list.

Overall, the list of candidates seems to be ever growing. Jharkhand Governor Draupadi Murmu, RSS chief Mohan Bhagwat, Manipur Governor Najma Heptulla, Senior party leaders LK Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi were also rumoured to be preferred choices. But with the ongoing hearing against them over the Babri Masjid issue, they are unlikely to be finalised.

Meanwhile reflecting on the discussion, Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad said the BJP leaders did not propose any name and instead sought cooperation on the presidential election.

“We expected that BJP leaders will come up with some name, one or more, for the post of president of India, so that the Congress party could take a call on that. But nothing of that happened. BJP leaders did not propose any name and instead asked us the names,” Azad said after the meeting.

A three-member committee of senior leaders-Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitley and Naidu has been entrusted with the task of meeting the opposition leaders and reach a consensus. Since no party has officially disclosed their nominee on the issue yet, a contest for the coveted post looks likely.

The other names which have been doing the rounds are former West Bengal Governor and grandson of Mahatma Gandhi Gopalkrishna Gandhi, Janata Dal-United leader Sharad Yadav and former Speaker Meira Kumar.

The presidential elections will be held on July 17 and counting will be on July 20. The term of incumbent President Pranab Mukherjee ends on July 24.

Do you have an interesting story to share? Please write to us at To stay updated with more positive news, please connect with us on Facebook and Twitter.