Complete News World



The first day of racing for the 2024 MOTUL FIM Superbike World Championship has finally arrived, and what a way to start the day on Phillip Island. In the 20-minute FP3 session, the WorldSBK machines took to the track ahead of the Tissot Superpole, and as has been the case throughout the test, Nicolo Bulega ( Racing – Ducati) was ahead of Toprak Razgatlioglu (ROKiT BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team). ) in the lead, with the Italian victorious this time.

Ducati riders came to the front. Nicolo Bulega set new lap records as track conditions allowed for significant progress for the first time this weekend. This club also included Razgatlioglu, who, after remaining in the pits with only one exit during the first ten minutes of the session, moved to P2, but behind the 'Bulegas'. He was just ahead of Andrea Locatelli (Pata Promition Yamaha), with the Italian leading the way on Yamaha. Swiss Dominik Eggerter (GYTR GRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team) then took fourth place ahead of teammate Remy Gardner, who finished fifth in the final session before the Tissot Superpole.

Then another BMW, this time with Garrett Gerloff (Bonovo Action BMW), who took a big step forward compared to yesterday. Friday's fastest, Alex Lowes (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK), finished seventh and was the last rider to record a time of 1:28, just 0.274 seconds off Bulega's time, although this was also slower than official testing earlier this week . Philipp Ottl (GMT94 Yamaha) was ninth with another strong performance, just ahead of Michael van der Mark (ROKiT BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team) in 10th and Andrea Iannone (Team GoEleven) in 11th. Jonathan Rea (Pata Promotion Yamaha) continued the fight He was only able to reach P13 on what he calls “Day 0”.

See also  "Little trance" with Heidenheim promotion coach Schmidt

It was a tough start to the day for some Brits, as Sam Lowes (ELF Marc VDS Racing Team) suffered a violent climb at Turn 12 on the Gardner Street Road. A few moments later, Scott Redding (Bonovo Action BMW) rolled over on the exit of Turn 6, but he also managed to get up and continue driving.

Top six after FP3, all results here:

1. Nicolo Bulega ( Racing – Ducati) 1:28.716 seconds

2. Toprak Razgatlioglu (ROKiT BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team) +0.003s

3. Andrea Locatelli (Pata Promotion Yamaha) +0.007 seconds

4. Dominik Egerter (GYTR GRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team) +0.124 seconds

5. Remy Gardner (GYTR GRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team) +0.221 seconds

6. Garrett Gerloff (Bonovo Action BMW) +0.256 seconds

A new era begins: track everything easily with… WorldSBK Video Pass!