Socialpost

Complete News World

All photos and chats can be deleted

All photos and chats can be deleted

  1. Homepage
  2. consumer

Whatsapp regularly introduces new features. But you don’t have to know all the application rules. What you need to know about the 120-day period.

Kassel – Whatsapp is one of the most popular messengers. The company recently announced a new feature. The smartphone is increasingly dominating everyday life, a Postbank study found. According to this, users spend an average of 20.2 hours per week on the Internet with their mobile phones.

If you prefer less screen time, you should not be away from Whatsapp for too long. Because after a certain time, photos and chats can be deleted from the messenger.

Developer Whatsapp Inc. / meta platforms
development year 2009
seat Menlo Park, California (USA)

Inactive on Whatsapp: The account with photos and chats will be deleted after 120 days

At least that’s what a look at Whatsapp’s guidelines reveal. Inactive accounts will be deleted after a period of time. Users are not warned in advance, the IM service writes to a file privacy policy.

“To maintain security, limit data retention and ensure user privacy, WhatsApp accounts are usually deleted after 120 days of inactivity,” it said. This means that users have not connected to the app for 120 days.

120-day limit on Whatsapp: Messenger checks activity every 30 days

Whatsapp checks every 30 days if the account is active or inactive. If the account is inactive for 120 days or more, it will be deleted. But what is the use of this function? The company wants to protect the privacy of users.

See also  “Realistic” RTS thanks to Unreal Engine 5
Anyone who has been inactive on Whatsapp for 120 days or more should consider deleting their account. © Ivana Kojic / Imago

If users change their phone number, they also set up a new Whatsapp account. The old number can be assigned to another person by the network operator after a certain period of time. Whatsapp deletes the account so that the new owner cannot access all the data, photos and conversations of the previous user. Meta founder Mark Zuckerberg recently introduced a feature to make Whatsapp more secure.

Whatsapp Deadline: This is how your account stays active

All you need to stay active is an internet connection. The company indicated that “if the user has WhatsApp on his device but there is no internet connection, the account is considered inactive.” If the Whatsapp account is deleted, the locally stored content will be kept until the app is uninstalled from the device.

However, you don’t have to worry about your data being deleted if you use it regularly. Whatsapp sets a very generous deadline of 120 days. Accordingly, users of the app can stay away for a few days or weeks without losing their data. Whatsapp’s new “Holiday Mode” can help you really enjoy the holiday. Whatsapp is banned in some countries. (cheese)