Socialpost

Complete News World

You must change these settings

You must change these settings

How to use Google Maps with more privacy

© Photo by Henry Birx on Unsplash

There is hardly an app that saves you more time in everyday life Google Maps. When it comes to from A to B to come or that Best cafe Finding it within walking distance of the Maps app takes only a few seconds. To do that, however, the app needs to know exactly where you are, and what you’re worried about aggregate can worry. Even if you often provide reviews of places, they leave a trail of data.

We show how you can use Google Maps without revealing too much about yourself.

Disable location history

Google has the advantage that your location is not limited to only Google Maps an offerbut also continuously registered will. This can be fun and practical when traveling, for example if you don’t remember exactly where that cozy bar was from the night before. At the same time, of course, it also has an uncomfortable side when every movement is recorded.

To check if location sale is turned on or off, you have to follow these steps in the Google Maps app:

  1. google maps-List Unlocked (Android: tap the profile picture at the top right, iOS: tap the three horizontal lines)
  2. Click Settings
  3. Click personal content
  4. to choose Location record
  5. There you can see the history disable Optionally it is also delete

Protection of personal data

Every map user sooner and later comes with an extension Reviews in touch. If you like restaurants, hotels and companies classified or Upload photosYou should take a closer look at another setting in Maps. By default, all comments and images you create are yourself Google Maps Profile collected and available to the public. So if you check back often, pretty much everyone can keep track of where you’ve been.

To prevent this, you can restrict your profile. Then the reviews will still appear on the respective sites – the profile view with aggregated reviews is visible only to those who are allowed to follow the account.

To find the option, you first have to go to File Settings, as described above. Then:

  1. employment personal content click
  2. Along the way scroll
  3. Profile Restricted activation.

Use incognito mode

If you want to leave as few traces as possible when using Google Maps, you can also hidden mode activation.

The mode works basically the same way you know from the corresponding option in the browser. Everything you search, move, etc. gets deleted from the device without leaving any residue after closing the app.

Alternative use of Google Maps

If the confusion of settings is too much for you, you can of course look for an alternative Google Maps they change. The map based on Open Street Map is especially recommended here Organic Maps. Available for Android and iOS, it offers many Google Maps features and more, such as complete offline navigation if you download maps beforehand.

See also  Fox in the footsteps of Zelda - fm4.ORF.at