Complete News World

Das Familienfoto bei den FIM Awards in Rimini

The FIM Awards: A sweet spot for the World/MotoGP Champions

At the FIM Awards in Rimini, the new world champions were celebrated and awarded for hours. FIFA President Jorge Vegas was in his place.

Last Saturday evening, the impressive “Palacongressi Rimini IEG Expo” for the first time served as the setting for the “FIM Awards 2022”, the end-of-season celebration in which the world federation honored new motorcycle world champions. As this region has traditionally had a strong passion for motorcycling and is home to many teams and riders, the FIM has essentially returned to its GP racing roots.

The evening in Rimini fulfilled the expectations of the many racing drivers, team owners, team directors and sponsors who attended. Several of the ‘2022 FIM World Champions’ were given a standing ovation and rewarded with plenty of applause when the FIM family gathered together with its newly re-elected President Jorge Vegas for the annual FIM Awards.

More than 800 guests gathered inside the magnificent building. Recreational entertainment was provided, and officials from the 115 former FEI member federations met. I have seen motorcycle legends, many well known FIM members, organizers, manufacturers etc.

The action can be followed via live broadcast, and the quartet of James Toseland, Barbara Pedrotti, Amy Reynolds and Matt Roberts led the evening with skill and verve as onstage presenters.

World champions from all six disciplines were heard during the ceremony: circuit racing; Motocross track racing. Enduro. Parades and trials across the country. All world champions received their certificates and other awards.

The “2022 FIM Trophies” award ceremony for the FIM Women’s Motorcycle Cup, the Women’s European Cup (Italy) has begun; FIM Environmental Award, Escuderia Castelo Branco, first training for Enduro Kids (Portugal); FIM Future Cup, Yamaha bLU cRU project and FIM Road Safety Trophy, Edustrada and PNES project (Italy).

See also  Schmid is waiting in the giant slalom in Schladming

FIM Circuit Racing Director Frank Vaese then awarded the circuit racing class medals: FIM Sidecar Racing Rider World Champion – Todd Ellis; FIM Sidecar Passenger World Champion – Emmanuel Clement; Supersport World Champion – Dominique Eggerter; FIM Moto3 Grand Prix World Champion – Izan Guevara and Moto2 Grand Prix World Champion – Augusto Fernandez.

Then the VIM Motocross Commission Director, Antonio Alia, took the stage to honor the VIM 85cc Junior Motocross World Champion – Jan Donsen; FIM S1GP SuperMoto World Champion – Marc-Reiner Schmidt; Women’s Motocross World Champion – Nancy Van de Ven and IMWSX Supercross World Champion – Ken Roczen.

FIBA Vice-President Ignacio Ferenida handed out the Trial category awards to the Trial 3 World Champion – Harry Hemingway; FIM Trial2 World Champion – Sondre Haga; FIM Women’s Time Trial World Champion – Emma Bristow and FIM X-Trial World Champion – Toni Bowe.

Enduro legend Petteri Silvan has looked after Enduro champions like FIM Youth Enduro World Champion – Harry Edmondson; SuperEnduro World Champion – Billy Bolt; Women’s Enduro World Champion – Jane Daniels; FIM E2 Enduro World Champion – Wil Ruprecht and FIM E1 Enduro World Champion – Andrea Verona.

Successful track professionals have been honored by track legend Jason Trump. He honored the FIM Speedway SGP3 World Youth Champion – Mikkel Andersen; Long Track World Champion – Matteo Tresario and VIM Speedway World Champion – Martin Harahiltonen.

FIFA Trial Director Thierry Michaud handed out the awards in the team category: FIM Women’s Trial des Nations and FIM Trial des Nations – Spain; Women’s Six Days International Enduro World Cup and FIM International Six Days Enduro World Cup – Great Britain; FIM Speedway of Nations – SoN – Australia and FIM Motocross of Nations – USA.

See also  German League »News» Mourinho appears to want to lead Sabitzer to Roma

FIA President Jorge Vegas has insisted that the real stars of road racing be paid attention to. Valentino invited Rossi to the stage to present him with a special FIM award.

Then other winners were honored: the world rally champion FEM – Sam Sunderland; FIM TrialGP World Champion – Tony Boo; EnduroGP World Champion – Andrea Verona; FIM Speedway Grand Prix World – World Champion Bartosz Zmarzlik; MXGP MOTOCROSS WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP – Tim Gajser; VIM Motorcycle Grand Prix World Champion – Álvaro Bautista and VIM Motorcycle Grand Prix World Champion – Francesco Bagnaia.

“The FIM Awards have once again been a really great event for the entire motorcycling community,” said FIA President Jorge Vegas. “Rimini has proven to be a fantastic host. Congratulations to the new champions and successful defending champions, as well as everyone who made this event possible.”