Complete News World

“In every beginning lies eternity” – Early Spring |  Mo |  01 29 2024 |  6:57

“In every beginning lies eternity” – Early Spring | Mo | 01 29 2024 | 6:57

Hugo von Hofmannsthal is not only the author of “Everyman” and co-founder of the Salzburg Festival, he also wrote librettos for such famous operas as “Der Rosenkavalier,” “Elektra,” and Richard Strauss’s “Die Frau ohne Schatten.” When he was very young, he wrote poems whose enchanting sound is still wonderful today. The rest of his works, his prose and dramas such as The Difficult and The Incorruptible, did not come to him easily – for Hofmannsthal, language was not something self-evident that was simply at his disposal. In “The Letter of Lord Chandos” he describes how abstract words disintegrate “in his mouth like rotting mushrooms” – a starting point for Austrian literature that reflects language skeptically or manipulates it experimentally.


Free podcasts:
Thoughts for today -XML
Thoughts for today – Itunes




Composer: Richard Strauss/1864 – 1949
Translated by: Jean-Baptiste Molière/1622 – 1673
Template: Hugo von Hofmannsthal/1874 – 1929
Title: LE BOURGEOIS GENTILHOMME, Op. 60 – Suite for orchestra from incidental music to Hofmannsthal's adaptation of Molière's comedies
* Minute – second movement (00:01:29)
Title in another language: The citizen is noble
Orchestra: Philadelphia Orchestra
Performer/performer: Anshel Brosillo/violin
Performer/performer: Samuel Mayes/cello
Performer/Performer: William Smith/piano
Commander: Eugene Ormandy
Performer/Performer: Anshel Brosillo // August 14, 1928 Philadelphia
Duration: 01:00 minutes
Brand: Sony Classic SK 62650

Show more content

See also  Jewels from Metnitztal -