Complete News World

The U.S. is aiming for a gold medal in Paris

The U.S. is aiming for a gold medal in Paris

According to media reports, the US basketball team will appear in the most important star selection at the Olympic Games in Paris. “ESPN” and “The Athletic” wrote on Monday that American Association coach Steve Kerr and manager Grant Hill decided on a dozen players. The U.S. team for the summer games in France includes NBA superstars LeBron James, Stephen Curry, Kevin Durant and Joel Embiid.

Durant has already won Olympic gold three times, and James was part of the winning team in 2008 and 2012. Curry has never competed in the Olympics. A twelfth team spot should remain open until training camp in Las Vegas in July.

Wiping away the World Cup shame

Tyrese Halliburton of the Indiana Pacers was the only player on the team for the 2023 World Cup in the Philippines, where favorites USA lost to eventual world champions Germany in the “Thriller of Manila” semifinals.

Golden State head coach Kerr will once again oversee the team that begins in Paris. He was also part of the historic 111:113 World Cup semi-final defeat against Germany.

Later, American broadcasting group ABC disappointedly reported: “There will be no gold medal for the United States at this World Cup. For the second year in a row, the Americans may not get a medal at FIBA's biggest tournament. Instead, Germany is on the verge of winning the World Cup,” he said.

ABC's predictions came true twice: Germany celebrated winning its first World Cup final (83:77 over Serbia, note), and the United States went home without a medal.

See also  USA - Trump's handling of intelligence information is lax

However, America's embarrassment grew.

Kerr is coached in France by Tyronn Lue (Los Angeles Clippers), Erik Spoelstra (Miami Heat) and Mark Few (Gonzaga University).

According to media reports, the following players belong to the American team: LeBron James, Anthony Davis (both Los Angeles Lakers), Stephen Curry (Golden State Warriors), Kevin Durant, Devin Booker (both Phoenix Suns), Joel Embiid (Philadelphia 76ers), Anthony Edwards (Minnesota Timberwolves), Jayson Tatum, Jrue Holiday (both Boston Celtics) Bam Adebayo (Miami Heat) and Tyrese Halliburton (Indiana Pacers).